Breakfast

Crepes

dsc_0080

Crepes is something I have been making since my husband and I started dating. He is a big breakfast person, me not so much. I do love crepes for breakfast, I think its the sweetness, and that’s why I like them so much. I am not much of a salty person, especial first thing in the morning. The best thing about crepes is the endless possibility of toppings. My favorite is fresh strawberries and bananas. Other toppings we have done is jelly’s such as grape, apple, strawberry etc. also we have used bacon, dark chocolate topping, maple syrup, whip cream. I also make a sweet cream filling that we stuff the crepes with.

There is a crepe place by us where they make these huge crepes and then fold them up with whatever topping you want inside. Savory sweet your choice. We have been there a few times, My favorite was strawberry short cake and smore crepes, they both are deliciously awesome.. I have recreated the smore crepe at home, using crushed graham crackers, mini marshmallows, and chocolate chips. Super easy to do, although I did not have the fancy crepe maker large heat stone, I’m really not sure what it was or called, but either way I used a large flat pan. Worked out great. My goal is to make a savory crepe, someday… but for now let me share with you my breakfast crepes.

Crepes

 3/4- cups flour

1-t salt

1- cups milk

2- eggs

2- T sugar

1- T melted butter

1/2- t vanilla

Blend all ingredients in a blender, or mix well by hand. Preheat a 6in skillet on low to med heat. Once the pan is heated spray with non stick spray or coat the pan with butter. Pour about a 1/4 cup of the batter in the pan and swirl the pan around to coat the bottom of the pan with the batter. Cook the crepe until there is no shine on the top left, only take a minute or so. Flip the crepe over and brown the other side for a few seconds. Once cooked fold the crepe in half and place on a plate. Continue making the crepe until all the batter is gone. If you want a thick crepe just increase the amount of batter you use.

Cream Filling

1- 8oz cream cheese soften

1/4 cup powder sugar

2 T honey

1 t vanilla exact (or any flavor exact)

Use a stand or hand mixer and blend cream cheese until creamed, then add the rest of the ingredients and mix until smooth and combined. Place the cream filling into a sandwich size zip lock bag, seal bag and cut the tip of the corner off  

To assembly the crepes, open the crepe and squeeze the cream filling down the center. Flip each side over on top of the cream filling. Top the crepe with any topping of your choice. Top off with a dusting of powder sugar or whipped cream.

dsc_0073

5 thoughts on “Crepes

Leave a Reply

