Canning

Old Fashion Dill Pickles

DSC_0070


I have never canned before, but have always wanted to get into canning and “putting thing up” as my mother in law calls it! My family eats a lot of pickles so I though that would be a good start to my canning. I went to the farmer market in town and got a bushel of cumbering pickles, dill and garlic. Old fashion dill pickles was a recipe that my mother in law gave me, but I changed it to my liking, so here is the new recipe and how I canned my pickles.

Old Fashion Pickle Recipe

NOTE: I did 24 quarts total, but I did them 6 at a time. The brine recipe is for 6 quarts, so you are filling the jars and making the brine several time but it just works out better that way. Also my stock pot only held 6 quarts at a time, and you want to do the water bath as soon as you fill the jars.

Wash the pickles and soak them in ice cold water for two hours. Next boil your jars and lids or run them in the dishwasher like I did. I started the dishwasher the same time I soaked my pickles. Leave the jars in the dishwasher and only take them out as you need them. Same with the pickles let them soak and take them out and remove the “blossom ends” as you go. Ok so let start with that, I though removing the blossom end was to cut the ends of, but I guess its just the little blossom parts??? Per my mother in law when she seen my canned pickles she said I took to much off lol. So just the blossom part! Soaking them and cutting the blossoms off is to help them stay crisp.

Boil 1 quart white vinegar, 2 quarts water, 1/2 cup kosher salt, for 5 minutes.

pickles5

Fill 6 quart jars with the dill, garlic and pickles, while you brine mixture is boiling. Also you can place grape leave over top of the pickles it is suppose to help the pickles stay crisp, I however skipped this step as I did not have any grape leaves. 
DSC_0042 (2)

Pour the hot brine into each jar leaving half inch head space. The brine should be enough to fill 6 quarts. Place lids on the jars and put them in boil water for 20 minutes. This is the hot water bath, timer does not start until the water in boiling.

DSC_0046 (2)

After 20 minutes take jars out and place on a towel to cool, try not to touch the top of the jars. They say if you touch the top, the jars may not seal properly, but my husband went around tapping the tops as I’m yelling “don’t touch them” They sealed just fine, you will hear little pops every once and a while, its a good sound!

DSC_0063

 

2 thoughts on “Old Fashion Dill Pickles

Leave a Reply

