Sweet Treats

Fluffy chocolate chip cookies

DSC_0050

We are going camping again and as always I am making treat to take with us. Husbands request chocolate chip cookies! He would prefer the traditional recipe  from the back of the chocolate chip bag, but I like to try new recipes

I found this recipe over at Amy’s healthy baking

I was not going for a healthy cookie, although the idea sounds nice! I just like her theory on the moist chewy cookies.  Please see my notes at the bottom, for a few changes that I made.

 


Fluffy Chocolate chip cookies

2 c all-purpose flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

1 ½ tsp cornstarch

¼ tsp salt

6 tbsp butter, melted

2 egg whites, at room temperature

1 tbsp skim milk

4 tsp vanilla extract

1 c light brown sugar

¼ c regular semisweet chocolate chips

2 tbsp. mini semisweet chocolate chips,  divided

 

 In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, cornstarch, and salt.

In a separate bowl, whisk together the melted butter (cool the butter a little before adding to eggs) and egg whites until fluffy. Whisk in the milk and vanilla extract. Stir in the brown sugar. Add in the flour mixture, mix until incorporated. Add chocolate chips.

Cover the top with plastic wrap, and chill for at least 30 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350°F, spray 2 cookies sheet with cooking spray, or line with parchment paper.

Roll the chilled cookie dough into balls and flatten slightly. Bake at 350°F for 10-12 minutes. Remove from the oven and allow the cookies to sit on the warm baking sheet for a few minutes before placing a cooling rack.


 

NOTES: I made a few changes, I used 2 whole eggs, I’m weird about wasting things and being I was not going for the healthy part, I did not want the egg yolks to go to waste, so I used both. Also because of using more egg I needed to add about 1/2 cup more of flour. If using whole eggs then start with 2 cups of flour and add if needed. You could also just use one egg as well.  I also a cup on regular semisweet chocolate chips. I chilled my dough overnight, only cause I wanted it ready to go first thing in the morning, so I could start baking when I got up. If you do not want to wait overnight then I would chill them for a few hours, baking cold dough is how you will get a rounded shape cookie, and not the flat lifeless cookie.

DSC_0050
To print the recipe hit the print button at the bottom of the page, you can take out the pictures and any text you would like by just click on what you want deleted, before printing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

